Food storage and perishable resources

Hi all,

Day by day, I feel more excited thinking on the release of this game. After the last tweet, I wonder how the food can be storage and processed. There will be some kind of salted meat, smoked fish, granaries? What do you think? What do you expect?

By the way, I have a question. Developers say that all resources are perishable, but I hope that resources like iron ore, stone or wood won’t be.

Impatient to ear you opinions :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I guess the devs will have better knowledge of ancient preservation methods. I remember seeing that the nords preserve fish by air drying by the sea, not sure if salts comes in to that. I guess a realistic time frame would help aswell.

Well, I have to say that I am not an expert. I just mentioned salt or smoke because they were the first methods that come to my mind.

Just wanted to see my villagers processing the food (much better in an accuracy historical way. I trust developers for this), preparing themselves for the long winter… or a migration.

hmm salt and smokers were used a little later ? i think one of the oldest ones is drying… (wind and sun outside)

Very old screenshots show how the devs were trying out how citizens used drying racks for fish

This right here is people getting carried away and drying WAY too much fish

Another test with storage pits. They were just placeholders but this is was the way to store grain for long periods.

As resource decay is a thing in AC, there will be multiple ways to counter it.

And wood does decay if left in the rain :wink:

It is completely possible that Neolithic Europeans smoked aliments (they had all the tech), and they also collected salt, so they could trade with it, or use to preserve food.

3 Likes

Thanks for the info and the screenshots. And you are right, wood can decay if left in the rain. If AC has this level of detail, it will be an incredible game.